GP2 Hockenheim: Grid penalties for Izawa, Haryanto and Cecotto Jr

Three drivers have been given three-place grid penalties for impeding in qualifying for the first GP2 race at Hockenheim on Saturday.

Takuya Izawa, Rio Haryanto and Johnny Cecotto Jr have all been penalised for their transgressions, two of which cost Ferrari junior Raffaele Marciello his shot at repeating his Silverstone pole for the series’ 200th race.

ART’s Izawa was found guilty by stewards of impeding Racing Engineering’s Marciello at Turn 13, and his three-place penalty is added to the five that the Japanese driver already carried over from Silverstone Sprint Race.

Marciello had earlier been impeded by Rio Haryanto at Turn 13, for which the Caterham driver has been given a three-place penalty.

Following both of these unconnected incidents, Marciello said: “I am very unhappy because I could have finished in a top three position, but traffic kept me from doing so.

“This is no excuse, but it was avoidable by other drivers.”

Cecotto was also found guilty of impeding Haryanto at Turn 13, and has also been given a three-place grid penalty as well.

Cecotto will now start from P10, Izawa from P23 and Haryanto from P25. Marciello will now start seventh, moving up as Cecotto moves back.

Revised starting grid:

Pos Driver               Team              
 1. Jolyon Palmer        DAMS              
 2. Stoffel Vandoorne    ART               
 3. Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering
 4. Tom Dillmann         Caterham          
 5. Felipe Nasr          Carlin            
 6. Arthur Pic           Campos            
 7. Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering
 8. Alexander Rossi      Campos            
 9. Simon Trummer        Rapax             
10. Johnny Cecotto       Trident           
11. Stephane Richelmi    DAMS              
12. Rene Binder          Arden             
13. Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus           
14. Daniel Abt           Hilmer            
15. Mitch Evans          Russian Time      
16. Julian Leal          Carlin            
17. Conor Daly           Lazarus           
18. Jon Lancaster        Hilmer            
19. Andre Negrao         Arden             
20. Artem Markelov       Russian Time      
21. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax             
22. Sergio Canamasas     Trident           
23. Takuya Izawa         ART               
24. Marco Sorensen       MP                
25. Rio Haryanto         Caterham          
26. Daniel de Jong       MP